42

A pot of tea, for two.

Please. …

Arthur Dent in his various incarnations as a computer genetically modified with a subspecies of computer engineer, spent most of his literary career trying to get a computer to work. The fact that the computer was interconnected to an improbable number of other computers was the basis of the radio scripts, books, films, the improbable number of various other media interpretations and the answer to the question about life the universe and everything.

As for me this latest incarnation of Opera is a loser.

It loses my tabs and I can’t find their store in my bookmarks.

Serves me right for upgrading over the top of the previous editions.

I am not an happy chappie and wish I hadn’t bothered with this damned browser.

I keep a list of weather sites open and update them at least once a day. Unfortunately there is a Scandinavian ideal where this sort of behaviour is seen as unnecessary.

Back to Firefox and the bookmarks folder there, I think, then a rebuild possibly on K-Melleon?

Now let me see if I can find a spell check on this abortion.
I can’t even read the small print.

Where the heck is the “increase page size” icon?

OH YES…

That’s another thing. Version 9.5 or whatever the last one was called required me to choose to show images WITH EVERY BLOODY SITE I VISIT.

I see they insist on that feature for the upgrade.

OH GOODIE! I CAN PUT SMILIES IN HERE. I CAN’T GET SITES TO SHOW ICONS IN THE TABS BUT I CAN PUT ICONS ON HERE. Worra bag of Three Insert Image wotsits and no spellcheck.

If I could be bothered I I’d tell them about the font size feature feature. I’d call it a bug but I am trying to think like a vegetable Scandinavian.

That, as you may have gathered, was a rant about a version of Opera a few months back. I have learned a bit more about my computer, Opera and some other stuff since.

I’m not happy with the settings even yet though. They are obscure to me.

***

I gather there is a spell check version coming. Someone browsing ancient history brought this back to my attention in 2016. Opera has long ago turned up its toes unto god and Linux support unto the devil.

K-Meleonwas long ago a defunct forkĀ  that only ever ran on Windows. and I am not going to the bother of correcting whatever arse up caused the font size to change in this rant.

I long ago switched sitesĀ  only coming back here occasionally to make sure it remains open for deliberation.

3 thoughts on “42

  1. Ha. Michael your funny side is been well displayed here. (Indeed, I'm doing a back up of this author… maybe sooner or later he becomes famous) Just in case.

  2. Ergh!My sins coming back to haunt me.Let it be known I am fairly well aware of how naff my computer is and what sort of scrambled eggs it has in its hard drive boot record:Disabling sound and crashing Opera all the time and Firefox reguarly.He's just not annoyed enough to do anything about it yet, nor is he likely to be until it's too late and he has to.

  3. July 2008 3 1/2 years ago.Like that is it?Or do you think the East Texas disease will spread to Britain? Someone will close down Opera if they don't fire my arse for copyright violations?They won't be able to get at my hard drive unless I let them in. Of course the way I let backing up my stuff slide, it won't make much difference.

Leave a Reply

