In my mind I’m off to Carolina. Part 1.

The times produced are known as Equilibrium Tide Times, the times of low and high tides if the Earth were completely covered by water.

Our program calculates the solar and lunar positions with an accuracy of .25 degrees allowing accuracy to be within 1 minute in time. The times will change one minute for each 12 miles east or west of the base point. …

I'd been going through the essay on Luni/Solar Effect and came across the above.

Searching what small resources I had and with a limited education but knowing I am not especially dull and that if I can't understand something it might be because it defies logic, I concluded that I would just read through it deciding as I went on what I could understand, if it was correct or mistaken.

Was it me or the book?

I didn't even know what the definition of the moon's phases were. But I found out that, except in certain circumstances, you can relate the different types of weather to the times of those phases.

About an year or so back I was trying to work out the effect of minutes; when I had reckoned the affect the hour of the phase was for where I lived a long time earlier.

(I used to live in North Wales which is the south coast of the northern part the Irish Sea.)

Whichever phase, new, full or either one of the quarters; it was the time that counted, if the time of the phase was at the following hours….

1 o'clock = wet
2 o'clock -not then known.
3 o'clock = thundery.
4 o'clock -not then known.
5 o'clock = anticyclonic
6 o'clock = dull cool and overcast.

After that it repeated the code the same way so that 7 was like 1 etc.

I got the impression that 1 minute of time was the equivalent of 4 times the relative distance the sun or moon would travel in that time. I still haven't really worked that bit out yet. This means I have probably missed an important step.

Some astronomy:

The sun moves 15 degrees east to west every hour. The moon is far more erratic but it isn't far from the same amount overall. It's a lot more complex than that. Henri Poincare.

It works out to something like a degree for ever 4 minutes but I got the weather effect to be 4 degrees for every 4 minutes. In other words it would place the expected Low Pressure 4 degrees east or west for every minute to and past the hour.

All nonsense of course Low Pressures move the same way for hurricanes as it does further north and south. I'm not so sure of my findings now but if I can find what I wrote about it, I might be able to track my thinking on the matter. Maybe clear it up.

On the earth, 1 hour is 15 degrees. 1 degree is 60 minutes of arc and 1 minute of arc is a nautical mile.
So that's 4 nautical miles per degree. (1 nautical mile = 1.15 statute miles. 1 nautical mile per hour = 1knot. Just thought I'd throw that bit of trivia in to confuse you all.)

Best I can do. More in another post.

Leave a Reply

