OK, now for something nice.

I'm still fuming over the BBC so this a cathartic.

A couple of interesting things concerning geo-phenomena. How the Aleutian Isalnds are connected to the Carolinas. …

A couple of interesting things concerning geo-phenomena.

1. I get cricks in my neck with either the weather or seismic events. Such things are fairly common though widely disputed. You may know of arthritics who get pains before or during storms. They would be able to use them as forecasts if they were not so confused about the pain at other times.

Here is why:

It is something to do with the acoustics of seismology and perhaps the noise originated in the air? I can not say. I doubt there is such a thing as plate tectonics whatever the case. (It is a ludicrous theory but another story.)

Whilst I was relating events to a region of the earth around Tonga and Fiji, there were events nearer home that might just as easily been the harbinger. A series of Low Pressure centres joined up around Iceland and the Norwegian Sea. Maybe the trigger was the way the Lows crossed a boundary in their oscillations this weather spell.

So it is my own backyard or a garden far away. The North Atlantic weather charts are for 6 hourly intervals, so are too far apart to prove anything.

Another problem is the absence of earth-wide, low intensity quake lists. I think I have gone about as far as I can go with the NEIC lists but anything larger will be impossible for me to handle.

There has to be a simpler way. That will need some serious thought. I have just had another episode of neck or shoulder pain. So what is going to happen next?

I think it's Tonga / Fiji and I wish I could find a list of quakes smaller than 4 M. in that region.

*******

2. When a Low or High Pressure Area leaves North America it enters the North Atlantic. When it gets to the coast (usually between Newfoundland and Cape Hatteras) there will be a surge in earthquakes on the North American west coast.

More specifically you can relate the type of weather and the place it leaves the continent to the region that gets the quake. (Very much work in progress at the moment.)

This is what I mean:

All this spell (which started around October 21st, 2008) there was a standing wave just west of the Rockies (over Utah or that area.) It began to move east later in the spell.

It is strange that a Low should be a long standing event. By their nature they blow themselves out -or away. Anything else is a sort of "singularity" in fluid mechanics.

It crossed the coast about the 26th October 2008 when this occurred:

2.7 M. @ 09:35. 40.3 N. 124.7 W. Offshore N Cal.
4.9 M. @ 09:27. 40.3 N. 124.7 W. Offshore N Cal.

Then there is all that consecutive stuff following the above (in the same 2 places: Unimak Island region of Alaska and around Puerto Rico.)

If I wasn't such a genius…
I'd still have my super-powers.

And a sore back.

One thought on “OK, now for something nice.

  1. I am not sure magnitude is being worked out the way it counts in relation to the rest of geo-physics.You don't for example add a 2.7 magnitude to a 4.9 and get a 7.6 M. But they have had that effect on the weather. (I must explain about that one day but trust me, it will confuse you while you are struggling with this.)The powers that be insist on their own rules and I long ago divorced them for stupidity in the face of facts. (The fact is they don't have any facts; just data.)I will go on about this in another post.

Leave a Reply

