The New New Opera

Teething problems.

And the importance of having a nasty suck. …

There is a problem with the blog service in that the server is having to cope with a glitch that has it writing messages two, three or more times. I have just deleted two duplicates of an original thread. The overlaod slows the service and now the tech are working on the picture albums.

What I can't understand is how the service can operate fro free. Imean, they are offering 1 GB free to non paying customers. I have no reason to abhor advertsa dn wouldn't object to a free service using them to pay the rent anyway.

Still. The service seems excellent so far. Pity about the glitches but I am sure they will be mastered soon enough. When I first tried it earlier this evening, it was in a very poor state. But then an half hour shut down allowed them to clear the decks and I noticed it was better straight away. Well done them.

The above was posted:
Wednesday, 19. November 2008, 00:02:49

This Edit was an addition from13:45 ish on the 19th.

They just opened a new bugs page so there is major consternation going on in the bowels of the Norwegian Wood or cavern whatever:

Since yesterday's release we've run into some startup problems. We're working hard to get all the new cool features on My Opera back up and running again. Thanks for your patience and understanding on this matter.

If you have a bug which is not identified and listed below, please report it in this forum post.

Known issues

My Opera might be slow from time to time as we continue optimization. This is a known issue and if you experience proxy errors, no response or general slowness this is something we're working to fix as soon as possible.

Profile images and avatars are not showing. We're currently using a temporary image placeholder. Your image and avatar is not removed or deleted. All data is restored and you will have your profile picture and avatar back soon.

Activity Feed. The newly added feed to My Opera is currently deactivated due to performance issues. This will be fixed soon.

After sorting pictures in a photo album it does not save, but simply redirects to the edit page. Yes, this is confirmed too. We're fixing it.

I wonder what on earth is going on?
I liked the bit about the Swedes and the Norwegians though.

I actually do like the new set up. What I think is a pity is that MSN communities used to run into the same kind of problems all the time but would never discuss it. Google is the same, even the Google help sites always keep shtoom about problems.

Here we have a small browser firm with a very good reputation running into problems and bravely explaining everything about the machines that they can. I doubt there will be in depth reports issued but it is nice to know that someone is acting in good faith as an intermediator for us.

Mediating is what a browser is supposed to do after all.

I can only wish that governments were run with such honesty. Or drug companies and various other corporations and trusts too, for that matter.

*****

Thursday morning at 10 am

I can hear the berating
At the blog site I love,
As it dies here beside me
Changed in the night,
Electrons and static
Crowd out the forums,
Reflecting the view
Of the overhauled site.

Me pictures 'ave gorned,
My heart is so heavy,
I read others posts
In which I'm involved,
For I know with the first light of dawn
I'll be grieving,
Monday night will be
All I have left to recall.

Oh, what have they done,
Why have they done it,
Committed a crime?
Broken the law?
Not at all, simpletons
They made some improvements,
And it isn't going to cost their abusers at all

Our lives are unreal,
To some an illusion,
A scene badly written
In which they must pay.
Refugees by the hundreds on an harsh desert hillside, where all of their loved ones are fading away.

A little bit of perspective here would not come amiss.

But I'm alright. I can access my pictures and I even had the choice of getting a widget for it. If only I knew what it is supposed to do.

*******

What the hell is this doing on my front page?
WTF is this doing on there?

Chat:

Weatherlawyer
2008-12-03 01:59:28
Sorry I missed you. Goodnight.

Weatherlawyer
2008-12-03 01:55:40
This is clever. How long have they had it?

Weatherlawyer
2008-12-03 01:54:59
I couldn't get the page loaded

Weatherlawyer
2008-12-03 01:54:42
Hi. I am new to this.

vilyvi
2008-12-03 01:38:43
Have a great day !!!!!!!!

I recieved a message from a fellow blogger without realising it. By the time I got around to answerng it she had moved off. I did not know how to reply to the message for a while. Mainly it never occurred to me that the company would be so naive as to have a chat room open on my front page. Not just that page but evry one that opens on my blog.

What sort stupid fool allowed that to remain there? If it is me then I shall not be annoyed with myself. But I am already very annoyed with whover failed this.

FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!! FAIL!!

11 thoughts on “The New New Opera

  1. It would be nice to have a list of dates in the OP showing when the post was originally written and the times and datesof any edits made.It might seem a trivial point to make but if like me you are posting date critical material, a date stamp might be important.*****The home page tells me:

    Your activity feed is currently empty because you have not yet subscribed to any items. You can easily subscribe to blogs, photos, and more by clicking the subscribe button next to each item.

    I don't even know if that is a good thing or a bad thing.What is an "activity"? I take it it isn't a reference to my habit picking my nose and chewing the collected detritus?(What is the difference between snot and cabbage?…Have you ever tried to get a child to eat cabbage?)

  2. I like the ability to click on the comment you are replying to in order to quote from it. It can be a time saver to follow long threads with.Also if someone edits a post you reply to it will change the way your reply looks to others. If yuou quote it there can be no misunderstandings. And you retain a measure of control over the post.The site is working a lot faster than I found it previously. There was an unacceptable waiting time in moving on to the next page and in waiting to send or to open one.I'm waiting to post some more charts now but there is nothing to stop me writing. Only the necessities of life. If I had one.I must get one.

  3. It would have been nice if they left Opera alone. All I see is design changes. Everyone's profile pictures are gone. It is taking twice a long to load pages now. They still do not have a JAVA picture upload. I am seriously considering moving my blog somewhere else. I don't want to take 20 minutes to do a blog post when it should take 5.

  4. There is nothing to stop you having more than one blog. I messed around with MSN at one time. I still have the site but I seldom visit. Then I started a Google group but I restricted myself to the same old same old and that died.Then I realised I wasn't having fun writing them because I was restricting myself. The beauty of the Internet is that it has no restrictions.As long as you bear in mind that that includes no social mores and that you are opening a window if not a door to the worst sorts of people, you can have a lot of fun in relative safety.I wrote a lot until recently on Usenet but I became a bellicose, disagreeable person due to the hatreds my ideas inspired in others. I did not acquit myself at all well but the brilliance of that format is it is a secure repository of files. They are shared with servers maintained at government and university sites earth-wide.The problem with that is that all your faults and errors stay there too.Whatever you decide, be careful -and have fun.If you decide to leave, come back and visit from time to time. :doh:

  5. Yes but that is the trouble with any site with the owner having sole discretion with it and above them the space supplier acting as the heavy landlord.Stuff like that should be limited to controlling stuff so that children can use it but then you get painted with the colours of your comments if you own the site and don't censor them.Once you have to start doing that, you tend to fall into a control freak trap. There were a lot of newbies in MSN as it is the first place new Windows users get to see. Sometimes they never find out more than MSN.

  6. I just read the PDF linked to on today's home page about an interview given in India.Apparently Opera gets its finance from the services that make use of it. It is one of the most widely used apps for non specifically computer hardware.So whilst it maintains that margin it can command good revenues from search engine and related companies.I imagine if they started running adverts, the market would be seen as viable for jonny come latelies. It will anyway, soon enough. Such is progress.I couldn't clip a quote from the pdf with Foxit Reader. I wonder if that is because I never saved the file to my computer?

  7. I do not like the new front page. What happened to the Explore Blogs page? OK it was a pain flashing through a load of foreign language stuff but at least it gave the appearance of a very large user base.But the point is I liked looking at new blogs they hold new ways of looking at things. Stupid ways compared to mine of course but…. different.

  8. No.I don't like not being given easy access to other blogs. It was a regular pain in the bum not having the blogs sorted by language. And there was a lot of scrap stuff that needed banning.But you got to view unexpected stuff and it was interesting.Other people's viewpoints are always interesting if you know they are not motivated by anything greedy or political. Then you know you are going to read something that is at the very least, nice.

  9. Someone clipped all my scintillating comments off the forum WTF and Waterfork and some others.But not before the crowd was dazzled by my brilliance.WTF?They put a notice up telling us it was Manday December the first so that got a pounding. Someone posted a reminder about a great competition for great compertits.I just wondered if the dating mechanism in Opera meant it was still open 3 years later. And someone didn't like it.Norwegians don't like it upem apparently. Are they high jerman I vunderbah!? I hear fart ladies singing in the eyeear. Eye ear Operations every wear where? Genital tingles ruining downey thighs and fat ladies have a monstrous size.

  10. Fancy having British weather and no sense of humour.Poor buggers.Mind you the Scots are the same but at least they can get drunk.

Leave a Reply

