The three times table:

One times three is three, two times three are six.

What a load of cobblers.
And it meant nothing to me when I was a kid, marginaally more useful than learning a foreign language. …

I might have been tricked into learning maths if I had been shown this idea.

The concept applies to all multiplication tables:
Write the numbers one to ten ignoring the first digit of any double digit figures, thus:

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5 – 6 – 7 – 8 – 9 -0

Every one of those numbers appears in a sequence in the three times table.
this is the sequence:

3 – 6 – 9 – 2 – 5 – 8 – 1 – 4 – 7 – (3)0

Now if you put them both together you will see how to get up to nineteen times three, without thinking:

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5 – 6 – 7 – 8 – 9 -0
3 – 6 – 9 – 2 – 5 – 8 – 1 – 4 – 7 – (3)0

One times three is three =

1 –
3 –

Two time three is six =

2 –
6 –

One times three is three. Two time three is six =

1 – 2
3 – 6

Can you see the ruse? And you dispense with the need to explain to a child what exactly a "times" is. (A concept I never came to terms with until it was my turn to try to explain it.)

12 times three =

2 –
6 – =

(1)2
(3)6

17 times three =

(1)7
(5)1

So you have only got to learn this sequence:

3 6 9, 2 5 8, 1 4 7 (something)ty.

*******

So this is what you teach your child (having dispensed with all the stupid explanational stuff) is:

3 6 9, 2 5 8, 1 4 7 thirty.

3 6 9, 2 5 8, 1 4 7 forty.

3 6 9, 2 5 8, 1 4 7 fifty.

3 6 9, 2 5 8, 1 4 7 sixty.

3 6 9, 2 5 8, 1 4 7 seventy.

3 6 9, 2 5 8, 1 4 7 eighty.

3 6 9, 2 5 8, 1 4 7 ninety.

(I get stuck after that.)

5 thoughts on “The three times table:

  1. Makes perfect sense to me:fifty.3 6 9, 2 5 8, 1 4 7 sixty.Means:(fifty)3 (fifty)6 (fifty)9, (fifty)2 (fifty)5 (fifty)8, (fifty)1 (fifty)4 (fifty)7 sixty.OOPS!:awww: Well I said I couldn't count.:D

  2. Would you believe College Algebra is the only class that is keeping me from a piece of paper that says I have a Bachelor's Degree in Fine Art? Only thing is, I'd first have to take Beginning Algebra, Intermediate Algebra w/ Review, Intermediate Algebra 2 before I'd be able to take College Algebra. That'd mean two more years of college of just math. No thanks! I figure, since I have 120 credit hours over and above what I need to graduate, I have my degree…just not on a piece of paper. I might have been able to get out of the math by petitioning the school and had the petition already to go. But then the university tacked on a $500 surcharge for that semester because I hadn't graduated in four years. I couldn't come up with the surcharge so I quit.

  3. I got into Grammar School even though I was a dud at languages and maths. So I was always bottom of the class.I had a choice in the forth form of Music or wood-work so I chose wood-work because I thought music was for pansies.Before I left school the Beatles and the Rolling Stones were famous. And as you can (not) see from above, doggerel (which is all pop songs are) just rolls off the tongue. (Not very good at keeping track of what thread I am in too neither.)I think everybody is good at something. But sometimes it takes all your life finding out what.I was no good at French, Technical Drawing, Maths, Welsh, Art or Physics (which was about three years of pulleys and I still can't grasp mechanical advantage when it's at home or out abroad. So that stuffed up being a sailor and I was too scared to join the army.)So when, after Form 3, I discovered you could walk out the school gate and no-one would say anything if you marched out straight. Just like in an Alastair MacLean novel. That was it.I spent the next years on the hill overlooking the town or dossing around the shunting sheds where Beeching was criminally occupied killing the Raiways. (Which just goes to show what you can accomplish if you were good at maths.)If only I'd nicked the family Kodak. What an ignorant prat I was in those days. (Good shot though.)

  4. 3 6 9 thirty.thirty2 thirty5 thirty8 forty.1 4 7 fifty.3 6 9 sixty.2 5 8 seventy.1 4 7 eighty.3 6 9 ninety.There you go.If I could think of a solitary occasion I might ever need to multiply anything by three, that I can't manage with my fingers and toes, I might be tempted to extend the rest of it:2 5 81 4 73 6 9, 2 5 8, 1 4 73 6 9, 2 5 8, 1 4 73 6 9, 2 5 8, 1 4 73 6 9, 2 5 8, 1 4 7But I only have three or so decades left at the very most and am going to be far too busy for the next 2.9 of them.

Leave a Reply

