Concerning religion.

I think everyone believes in god. Even atheists. Look how upset they get when you remind them that their beliefs are a religious doctrine or dogma.

They think they are :alien:"Scientific":alien: whatever that means, but they can't even define the word "belief" without getting upset.:irked:

If you ask me, god did that to them for a joke. (A funny one, too.):cheers: …

So fundamentalist Christians don't celebrate Christmas?
Why?

My mother used to send me to church to get rid of me three times every Sunday and that turned me from a bully into a fundamentalist christian bully.

I see a need for a god to explain the marvels of his creation. But the dogma is absurd. Why would god make Satan or Hell if all he had to do was click his fingers to make things better? Not even that much effort, just think it; and I'd be a nicer person. No need to go to the devil when I die.

Then there is the way the world hangs together. It can't be an accident. It's just too miraculous.

I think everybody believes in god even atheists.
Look how thin the breathable atmosphere is. It's thinner than a greasy fingerprint. Maybe the depth of a polished, clean thumb over a 1/2" round disk.

A lightly touched dab.

And all human life is there. In fact all ALL life is there.
Not on Jupiter, not on Mars, nor on Venus or Mercury, nor the moon.
Just us here on earth.

I think the Devil is a destruction engineer. He's there to test us. We don't have to collapse every time he stretches us do we? Rather than kill us off maybe he's there to make us better than we could be. Like a strict, harsh, horrible teacher.

With only one redeeming feature; it's nice when he goes away.
If everybody that ever joined an army said they were not going to kill anybody, the stupid politicians would have to invent a form of politics that works.

I'd like to live in a world like that.
From what little I understand about the Bible, so would Jesus. So why didn't he magic himself off the cross?

He even knew what was about to happen. I'd have got the hell out of Jerusalem if I'd been him that night.
So what kept him?

8 thoughts on “Concerning religion.

  1. Let's have a look at happy accidents:It's a miracle that the simplest life is sugar and yeast, because that makes beer. What could be more pleasant a place to start?And a little bit more difficult: A cup of tea, made out of mouldy leaves and brewed in a porcelain pot. The sum of civilisation brewed out of the earth -the most earthly of processes.What a nice way to finish a job. A cup of tea and a biscuit.Then there is food. All of it tastes nice if it is made properly. But it HAS to be made and MADE properly. I never yet walked into a kitchen where a meal just fell into place without a lot of planning.And I need 2 or 3 of them every day. More when I was born.Hey!Who invented mammary glands?What a remarkable invention. If I had a pair, I'd never go out.I wouldn't dare, nor need. I'd stay at home and feed myself silly.God must have invented sex.(And didn't he do a splendid job with women?)Pity he put them in control of metering it out. Ah well, the devil is in the detail.

  2. Jesus didn't magic himself off the cross as you put it because he loves us. He was the only person who could die for us because he was the only one without sin. The Son of God himself took on the form of Jesus so that sinful man could be reconciled to himself (God). It was the only way."For while we were still weak, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly. For one will scarcely die for a righteous person – though perhaps for a good person one would dare even to die – but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us." ROMANS 5:6-8."For if while we were enemies we were reconciled to God by the death of his Son, much more, now that we are reconciled, shall we be saved by his life." ROMANS 5:10By the way Satan was not created evil. The angles like us were created with free will. Satan chose to rebel against God because he wanted to be God. He also convinced one third of the angels to rebel too and there was war in heaven. Read Revelation 12:7-9, in case you do not have access to a bible here it is, " Now war arose in heaven, Michael and his angels fighting against the dragon. And the dragon and his angels fought back, but he was defeated and there was no longer any place for them in heaven. And the great dragon was thrown down, that ancient serpent who is called the devil and Satan, the deceiver of the whole world – he was thrown down to the earth, and his angels were thrown down with him."Sin began with Satan and he then beguiled Eve into believing what he said and then Adam also believed and therefore sin was implanted in the heart of mankind. Through them came death and decay, until then the world was perfect. But we must remember that we have free will and the choices that we make are ours. A preacher that I know once said, "There are only two things that we have to do in life 1) take up space, 2)die. The rest is choice."

  3. Hi.I had forgotten abou this post. It was a bit of a rant and judging by my language in it I was on quite a downer. Sorry about that.Thanks for taking the trouble to put me right. I'll clean my language up before replyng to your post.

  4. I have read your post and agree with most of it. I am a Unitarian so disagree about that Duality bit.The rest I agree with.My point in the post is what would have happened if the atheists were right. If Jesus was just a clever conman, if god hadn't created sugar and yeast, oxygen-carbon dioxide cycles, mammals, the whole shebang….But ranting at atheists is a stupid thing to do. It is hardly likely to inspire change in them is it? You can't slap someone into a better way of life. You can only slap someone into dumb obedience. Isn't that why Satan was given free rein? In order to expose him to that lesson in his life?And in order for us to reflect on it ourselves. That is what I meant by calling him a destruction engineer. You learn a lot about something from studying it but only learn what causes damage by subjecting it to destruction.They didn't have refrigeration in biblical times. The only destruction engineering they could do was to over heat a metal and test it. That's one way to prove an alloy for weapons grades.I don't know how successful it was. I imagine going into battle with a suspect shield and sword could be unnerving.But that's besides the point.One day death itself will be destroyed or put to death. I can only imagine that since this death is going to hell, those left alive will remain here on earth to satisfy the object of god's desire to have it subject to an image of him.At the moment it is in subjection to a very poor reflection, is it not?So would the earth be better off without us? Who would take our place?Lambs and pigeons? Or wolves, bears and lions?That's a difficult one isn't it?

  5. My dear friend,You are most welcome. I am sorry to hear that you were on a downer, of course we all have our off days. 🙂 Blessings,Samantha.

  6. "God does not force us to love him that would be spiritual rape."Nice one.I didn't start out with the intent to poke fun at atheism. I just wanted to point out the happy accidents all took place at the right time and in such remarkable ways.But I get tangled up in emotional stuff and always veer to the dark side. It's as if Satan is guiding me when I am inspired. I can be a lot nastier, if that's any recommendation.I see things like Esau did. Sharply contrasted. That makes me a natural born slave or an highly motivated individual. Sometimes both. But with little or no amelioration in either case nor both.

  7. By the way I am a Seventh-day Adventist and of course we hold different views.I don't find ranting at anyone productive at all. We should just share God's word and leave it to the holy spirit to move upon their hearts. It leaves them freedom of choice the same as we have. The freedom to choose God or not (even if their choice is saddening to our hearts), no one who is compelled to accept God ever stays with him. Another preacher that I know once said, "God does not force us to love him that would be spiritual rape."May the Lord bless your week mightily,Samantha

Leave a Reply

