Problems problems

A problem squared is a problem enhanced. …

Originally posted by Wikipedia:

Operation Aurora is a cyber attack which began in mid-December 2009 and continues into February 2010. The attack was first publicly disclosed by Google on January 12 in a blog post. Google said the attack originated in China.

The attack has been aimed at dozens of other organizations, of which Adobe Systems, Juniper Networks and Rackspace have publicly confirmed that they were targeted. According to media reports, Yahoo, Symantec, Northrop Grumman and Dow Chemical were also among the targets.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operation_Aurora

I have been having some problems accessing Google web sites. An Opera page advertising Yahoo sometimes pops up when I click Speed Dial.

I can't say that I have experienced a great deal of difficulty with Symantec, Northrop Grumman or Dow Chemicals. But then I don't visit Symantec, Northrop Grumman and Dow Chemical much if ever.

I'd like to think that it isn't all my fault. So perhaps my coincidental melodramatics are just coincidental melodramatics.

5 thoughts on “Problems problems

  1. Originally posted by from the above article:

    According to Websense, the attack code it spotted is the same as the exploit that went public last week. "Internet Explorer users currently face a real and present danger due to the public disclosure of the vulnerability and release of attack code, increasing the possibility of widespread attacks," said George Kurtz, chief technology officer of McAfee

    I'm using Opera on a Kubuntu PC so what am I doing wrong (that I don't mind discussing in public)?

  2. Got me. I haven't had any real problems with IE8 lately but, intruders have been apparent on Opera10 though. I've got Google maps and such but my location and circumstances limit my access. I haven't been up on them lately. I just remembered; you might mean youtube also. My broadband, or lack of it, make that a frustrating attempt also. I used to access it more often through my Centro(Palm) but have a BlackBerry now and compatability issues. It's strange to me how the cell phone by itself is sometimes more feasible than using it as a modem for my netbook.

  3. I just remembered you had mentioned that you had an Asus. If that's using an Atom1 processor and it's video you're having trouble with that may be why. Perhaps checking out "ubuntu netbook remix – the path to low cost computing" by Sander van Vugt might help. That's the book that informed me as to the limits of the processor. He's also got one on ubuntu command line for your cd recognition problems.

Leave a Reply

