Northern Computer Markets

Computer fair,
Listless where once was busy
Serving a massive transient trade
In twisted lines, punters sifting
Trawling to upgrade
Watching for the moment's sake,
What to leave and what to take
Alas, those day's, long past. …

Where once the company advertised itself as the largest computer fare in the world, it is now relegated to little more than a church-hall bazaar.

Most of the stall holders having been burnt from stocking hardware that wouldn't sell before it was relegated to out of date and unsellable. Now they no longer come. All that is left is a few old hands knowing what might sell:
Inks, paper, copied freebies from the Internet and old refurbished and unrefurbished ex-school computers and the assorted innards of unidentifiable systems.

So I bought a motherboard, complete with CPU and RAM. All 512 whateverbytes of it.
And a 15 inch monitor.

I also got a copy of XP Pro, and a service pack upgrade disc (I know I can get it off the 'Net for free but it takes forever.) With the notexactlyfreeware I got a disc that I hope will give me my SATA drive back.
Which means I'll be able to put XP on all my machines.

Which means goodbye Linux; more or less. (Until Adobe pleases not just Steve Jobs but Linus Torvalds too.)

4 thoughts on “Northern Computer Markets

  1. You don't get nothing for free.I got a disk:

    Data Recovery ToolkitFor retrieval of all data from corrupt hard driveFor all Windows

    So I plugged my exWindows XP in and it failed to find data or cure the problem.But what it did do is cure both my Linux hard drives from booting up, from accepting the original discs that they came on and from booting the disc as live or repair functions.Now all I have to do is find a way to reapair any of my hard drives. I can't do it with a system I am familiar with I'm damned sure I am not going to do it with either version of Linux it did for.Sod it.If I didn't have bad luck, I wouldn't have any luck worth having.

  2. Originally posted by Weatherlawyer:

    Which means goodbye Linux; more or less. (Until Adobe pleases not just Steve Jobs but Linus Torvalds too

    That was prescient.Originally posted by Weatherlawyer:

    Which means I'll be able to put XP on all my machines.

    That wasn't.

  3. Originally posted by anonymous:

    Anonymous
    # 16. May 2010, 08:40
    wholesale chape windows 7 key writes:

    windows 7 Home Premium

    windows 7 Professional

    Well that was informative.

    When you turn your head quickly, do you drop bits of it out your ears?

Leave a Reply

