Boy, what a ROYAL pain

I've just got ny computer back from Microsoft …

I have had a horrible few weeks trying to get my computers back up.

I ended up buying a reconditioned one. An elderly P4 with 1 GB RAM.
Good enough for me. It was made up of 2 Maxtor HDDs and loaded with XP Home SSP3.

Not bad for the dosh but when I got it home, it just wouldn't allow me to put Linux on it.

I tried everything.
The only distro it permitted was Granular, which is a superb little distro but no longer updated and I couldn't get the dongle working. It kept seeing the USB as a removable drive.

So I tried my trouble shooting CD all it would do was wipe the drive or open Parted Magic live.

Non of my other Live discs would even load.
This is all after many fruitless attempts to do the same with the Dell.

Anyway, after a break from bitter disappointment turning from anger to frustration, I tried Windows 98. That did it, sort of. I'd put 2 sticks of 1 GB ram in it and now it was suffused with too much of a good thing.

Win 98 was originally designed to use 2 GB of Ram but that must have been at a much lower speed because it didn't like mine.

But at least it had formatted the drive. (Yes; I know a modern distro and even an early distro would format a drive. It just happened that in this case:
NOT!)

So I tried again.

Nothing. Only granular.

Once that was on, it took Linux Mint. But neither would use my dongle.
So that was up to a couple of days ago.

I had Windows on one drive and two Linux versions on the other.

So now I wanted to get rid of Granular for Ubuntu Ultimate Edition. (Believe me I would have stayed with Granular no matter what if it had found the internet connection. I really like it. Try it.)

UE wouldn't do it for me so I tried Ubuntu 10.10.

And here I am.
It wouldn't switch the dongle on then I realised if I unplug it it might just find it again.
And it did.

Updates took about 15 minutes including 3 versions of Flash and 1 Opera.
Resetting the screen-saver was necessary as it locked out each time It was idle and I reset the idle time to 15 minutes too.

Now all I need is some coffee and breakfast and I am all set.
I might try Mint again and if that finds the dongle, put Granular on the Windows drive -giving me 4 Operating Systems.

I wonder what I can use them all for.

Just to mess with I suppose.
The only thing I need is the net to surf with, nothing that dramatic.

I'll rearrange my room now to resite bonzo here:

11 thoughts on “Boy, what a ROYAL pain

  1. But first, I need to download sound codecs.I can't believe this is happening all over again!What is it with Linux and audio?Maybe I need to get a sound card.

  2. An I just spent half an hour writing a post for this and pressed the wrong key sequence.Damn Bill Gates to hell and beyond.

  3. I downloaded the Linux codec for AC97 from RealTek and that seems to be it.Now all I need it to be able to access my Windows drive.And set up my microphone.

  4. O what you say today sounds very promising. I'll be waiting for it.Look! One of the thing related to Linux I don't like at all is to find those drivers. I don't want to complicate my life with it now. Windows is enough for me. (I'm ill now… I cannot be stressed during those days. Linux must wait for me yet)Originally posted by Weatherlawyer:

    and pressed the wrong key sequence

    Which does sequence… Shift + Del perchance?

  5. Originally posted by tdjmd1:

    O what you say today sounds very promising. I'll be waiting for it

    I want to put audio online. But the standard seems very poor. I have a cheapo Logitech microphone that must have seen better days. Though in all the years I have had it I don't think I used it that much.I have some headset phones around somewhere. If they don't turn up so I can try them I suppose I will have to shell out another fiver or so.I can't for the life of me think where I put the dam thing!!!!!!!Ah well, twas ever thus.

  6. Originally posted by Weatherlawyer:

    I downloaded the Linux codec for AC97 from RealTek and that seems to be it.

    Some bloke from Linux Fornat Forums told me I needed the codec from another source for my motherboard. Maye I should try that.

  7. Originally posted by tdjmd1:

    Which sequence… Shift + Del perchance?

    If I knew that, I wouldn't have done it. Would I?I suppose I was at sixes and sevens again. I haven't looked lately what was the earthquake situation over the last few days?

  8. Originally posted by Weatherlawyer:

    Some bloke from Linux Fornat Forums told me I needed the codec from another source for my motherboard.

    I think so. As far as I know sound drivers aren't related to your OS but mother board, mate. Am I getting the point, huh? or I could be wrong…

  9. Originally posted by Weatherlawyer:

    When I highlight stuff on Opera the highlighted text is red. Is that a new Opera thing or is it just a local setting I have?

    That depends just of your own machine: mine highlights gray with this OS but with my W7 that highlights blue. See, mate*?But I'm not using Opera browser now so I can hardly know or say that is due to that browser exactly. * We are mates in a certain accurate mood: we will only mislead each other for sure

  10. You are wrong about your use of the term Mate.Don't ask me technical stuff about computers I will only mislead you.When I highlight stuff on Opera the highlighted text is red. Is that a new Opera thing or is it just a local setting I have?

Leave a Reply

