Phone Jammer

I want one. …

Originally posted by CNN:

Fancy gadgets that can be used to jam cell phone signals are illegal.
Google lit up Monday with people searching for them.

NBC10 reported on a man who admitted to using a cell-phone jammer during his bus commute to shut down fellow passengers when they were talking loudly.
"A lot of people are extremely loud, no sense of privacy or anything. When it becomes a bother, I screw on the antenna and flip the switch."

The story spread.
Throughout the weekend "cell phone jammer" was one of the top 10 searches on Google Trends.

Their legality varies from country to country.
Jammers work in much the same way online denial-of-service attacks on websites do — transmitting a signal on the same frequency as mobile phone calls in the area.

Under (USA) federal law, illegally using a jammer can result in jail time and fines up to $16,000.

http://edition.cnn.com/2012/03/05/tech/mobile/cell-phone-jammer/index.html?hpt=hp_c2

I was minding my own business sitting on a bus one day when a woman shouted "Hello!!"
So I shouted back: "Hello, How are you."

I ran out of steam PDQ but nobody heard me, including her, apparently.

I wish I had been confident enough to continue a mindless conversation. I'm pretty sure I could have had the other passengers howling with laughter. Maybe even joining in.

Could have been fun.

Pity about my "sense of privacy". (I was ashamed of the "cow" being of the same species as me.)

What I'd really like is a scanner to eaves-drop on such people. I'd really have some fun if I got psyched up enough.

2 thoughts on “Phone Jammer

  1. "cell phone jammer"http://electronics.howstuffworks.com/cell-phone-jammer7.htmOne maker' site reads badly:

    We Listen, Learn, and Lead, then Make a Difference!Being an ISO 9000 / 9001 / 9004 / 19011: 2000 certified organization, established by Shenzhen Government at 1993, we offer a voluminous rang of premium quality jamme products from multi band, very high power jamming systems, Vehicular Jamming system, Multi band Jamming system, Indoor and Outdoor Jammers ( Cellphone Jammers, GPS Jammers, Wireless camera Jammers ), for the protection of troop transportation, Military and Police checkpoints, large Governmental establishments, Bomb Disposal Squads and VIP convoys. We will write "Signal Booster" or "signal reciver" or "RF ROUTER " on the package, also describe the contents value as $10 each and describe it as a "GIFT", this way it will avoid being caught by Customs for Import taxes!

    It is allegedly a UK based company. I wonder how you would get your money back from them legally.

Leave a Reply

