Damn Small Linux

50MB.
DSL es una distribución de GNU/Linux que en tan solo 50MB es capaz de conseguir eficientemente lo siguiente
http://www.damnsmalllinux.org/index_es.html

DSL è una mini distro Linux estremamente versatile, orientata al desktop e racchiusa in soli 50MB.
http://www.damnsmalllinux.org/index_it.html

DSL ist eine desktoporientiere, aber nur 50 Megabyte großeLinuxdistribution.http://www.damnsmalllinux.org/index_de.html

Damn Small Linux est une toute petite distribution linux tenant sur seulement 50 Mo!
http://dsl-fr.tuxfamily.org/news.php

I have just put Zorin (a Ubuntu derivative) on this computer. It is also on my laptop. I like it too much to want to change but….
I would like to use a very small operating system just to see how fast such a thing can go.

Here is one new old release:

Originally posted by DSL:

What is DSL?

Damn Small Linux is a 50MB mini desktop oriented Linux distribution small and smart enough to do the following things:

Boot from a business card CD as a live linux distribution (LiveCD)

Boot from a USB pen drive

Boot from within a host operating system (that's right, it can run *inside* Windows)

Run very nicely from an IDE Compact Flash drive via a method we call "frugal install"

Transform into a Debian OS with a traditional hard drive install

Run light enough to power a 486DX with 16MB of Ram

Run fully in RAM with as little as 128MB (you will be amazed at how fast your computer can be!)

Modularly grow — DSL is highly extendable without the need to customize

Originally just a personal toy developed as an experiment to see how many applications can fit inside a 50MB live CD. Over time it grew into a community project with thousands of development hours put into refinements including a fully automated remote and local application installation system and a very versatile backup and restore system which may be used with any writable media including a USB device, floppy disk, or a hard drive.

DSL has a nearly complete desktop, and a tiny core of command line tools. All applications have been chosen for the best balance of functionality, size and speed.

Damn Small also has the ability to act as an SSH/FTP/HTTPD server right off of a live CD. In our quest to save space and have a fully functional desktop we've made many GUI administration tools which are fast yet still easy to use.

What does DSL have?

XMMS (MP3, CD Music, and MPEG),
FTP client,
Dillo web browser,
Netrik web browser,
FireFox,
spreadsheet,
Sylpheed email,
US English spellcheck,
Word-processor (Ted),
Three editors (Beaver, Vim, and Nano [Pico clone]),
Graphics editing and viewing (Xpaint, and xzgv),
Xpdf (PDF Viewer),
emelFM (file manager),
Naim (AIM, ICQ, IRC),
VNCviwer,
Rdesktop,
SSH/SCP server and client,
DHCP client,
PPP,
PPPoE (ADSL),
A web server,
Calculator,
Generic and GhostScript printer support,
NFS,
Fluxbox and JWM window managers,
Games,
System monitoring apps,
Command line tools,
USB support,
Pcmcia support,
Some wireless support.

There is a manual: The Official Damn Small Linux Book.
sizes.

You may want to support us by buying DSL on a CD, we sell them in full and mini sizes and there is a Bootable USB pen which is capable of booting inside Windows.

http://www.damnsmalllinux.org/index.html

The trade off with smallness is the availability of supplied drivers. My biggest bugbear is that few distros support a relatively unknown ISP a Mobile USB-stick from "3". They tend to look on the Huwawei drive as a storage medium.

The other snag is running into sound and graphics card problems.

I dare say they can all be downloaded from the manufacturer if the DSL people don't have copies for them on their repository (Linux distributions tend to come with a built in link to help you get just what you need or want as extras once you are set up and running.)

Failing that of course there are always other Linux forums to ask on.
Personally I like the idea of the world wide web being driven by people working from their attics and garages.

It makes me feel at home with people who could in theory populate the universe without having to go armed to the teeth.

12 thoughts on “Damn Small Linux

  1. From Wikipedia:DSL has built-in scripts to download and install Advanced Packaging Tool (APT). Once APT is enabled, the user can install packages from Debian's repositories. Additionally, DSL hosts software ranging from large applications like OpenOffice.org and GCC, to smaller ones such as aMSN, by means of the "MyDSL" system, which allows convenient one-click download and installation of software. Files hosted on MyDSL are called "extensions". As of June 2008, the MyDSL servers were hosting over 900 applications, plugins, and other extensions.But get this from the man whose toy this was originally:Originally posted by Wikipedia:

    Tiny Core Linux is a minimal Linux operating system providing a base system using BusyBox and FLTK, developed by Robert Shingledecker.The distribution is notable for its size (12 MB) and minimalism, with additional functionality provided by extensions. Tiny Core Linux is free and open source software and is licensed under the GNU General Public License version 2."Core" (8 MB) (also known as "Micro Core Linux") is a smaller variant of Tiny Core without a graphical desktop, though additional extensions can be added to create a system with a graphical desktop environment."Tiny Core" (12 MB) is the recommended option for new users who have a wired network connection. It includes the base Core system and a dynamic FLTK/FLWM graphical user interface."Core Plus" (64 MB) is composed of Tiny Core with additional functionality, most notably wireless support and non-US keyboard support.Tiny Core needs at least 46 MB of RAM in order to run, and Core requires at least 28 MB of RAM. The minimum CPU is a i486DX.Recommended configuration: A Pentium 2 CPU and 128 MB of RAM are recommended for Tiny Core.

    It's unbelievable isn't it. Yet a pre Pentium DX box was capable of running offices all over North America and western Europe in its day. And they were not cheap. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tiny_Core_LinuxSee also:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Linux_distributions

  2. Originally posted by Tiny Core Linux:

    The first step before you install any operating system such as Tiny Core is to back up everything on your computer before starting.

    Wrong!The first thing to do before installing any tiny linux distro is to get your old box out of the garage or go to a scrap yard/carboot sale and buy a second hand machine for a couple of quid and install it on that.

  3. Originally posted by Unasia:

    75 bucks..mobile…and android I think.

    Good grief!less than 50 quid for a brand new Laptop?It doesn't mention the hardware or anything. But at £50 you couldn't expect worthwhile upgradeability. It's just the price of a couple of sticks of Ram, not even…

  4. Originally posted by Unasia:

    no, you need a monitor

    Correct me if I am wrong but I think laptops come with monitors.

  5. I was given an old computer this weekend. I put a couple of old hard drives in it and had to install a different version of the OS that was on them.I had Granular on the master drive and it wouldn't boot in the Windows on the slave. I ended up putting Ubuntu Ultimate Edition Lite 3.0 on it.I'll have to burn an ISO of DSL now and try getting it installed on the slave.It's nice to have a spare computer to play alternatives with. I put a few of my old drives on it trying them out but I'm afraid they are all dead. The slave might be too unless the computer it came out of "Viglen" had a boot sequence that prevents it from operating as anything else but a Microsoft Windows OS.I have heard some firms do that. I find it hard to believe. Who would buy such rubbish?There again if you operate a monopoly and you choose to supply rubbish… After all look what happens in China:Poison in the baby food, string reinforcements in the concrete of schools and a law proscribing more than one baby per family.It doesn't matter how "free" a society considers itself, if the alternatives are not available, there is no freedom. Originally posted by Unasia:

    yeah, yeah, yeah…and coke shows you a hot a babe before its product…

    We are easily led. But I believe there are people out there who actually like the taste of that stuff.

  6. I have a large collection of damaged drives thanks to a burnt out box I didn't have the sense to throw away.I have masses of unsaved charts hidden in them waiting for the day I suddenly become a restoring dead hard drives guru. So I went through them one by one to see if any worked.None of them did. So what was wrong?Note to self:Look in the optical drives next time Michael. Maybe there is a CD the previous owner left in it that is causing disruption.So now I have to go through all my hard drives again.Also I have some old RAM that might work in it. That should give me 1.5 GB of RAM -not a bad machine if it will swallow them. Now I am looking for some of my old Linux distros to try them.I only want the ones that are user friendly for my mobile connection. Anything else is a coaster or a boat anchor. Time I had another clean-out.I don't think I will bother with down-loading any more operating systems. I have all I need why bother with more. Time will eventually run out for me.

  7. I have just put Zorin 6 on an old hard drive I thought it was an 8 GB HDD but ti turns out to be a 7. Odd.I will have to take it out and look at the label again.Disk Usage Analyzer tells me I have:Total File System Capacity of: 6.8 GB (used 4.1GB; available 2.8 GB)Looks like I need DSL on there.I'll try UE Lite 3.0 later since I have the disc for that. If it is small enough I may keep that I amy use the disk as a loose drive, taking it from one computer to another with a selection of Linux Distributions on it.(And save myself a few bob on a USB.)

Leave a Reply

