Planets

I'm trying to find information on planets that I can use to make forecasts -or at least see if they can be used somehow. …

It all smacks of Astrology. But it may just be a lost science.

Here is a superb set of data all on one page. Unfortunately the page is badly composed with regard to the code used in the HTML etc.

However it can still be gleaned with image saving and text copying:

There is some interesting stuff contained in the text. I edited it down here:

Saturn in Leo, Virgo and Libra, September 2006 to December 2013, positions on the first day of each month.

Dashed line = Saturn is too close or behind the Sun e.g. Mid-August to late September 2008.) Apparent loops a zig-zag formation (in Gemini) as it crossed the ecliptic (2004-5)

Hybrid formations (half loop, half zig-zag) through Cancer and into Leo

The Northern hemisphere is on top (Southern hemisphere)

RA (15 to 9 hours) and Declination (Tropic – Equator – Tropic) map references are on the chart's border.

Saturn crossed the celestial equator (declination = 0°), heading Southwards, late September 2010.
In Virgo for about three years before it enters Libra, early December 2012.
Mid-May 2013, returns to Virgo (moving retrograde westerly until stationary in July.
Re-enters Libra in late August 2013.

Opposition (closest to Earth) and at its brightest every 378 days (13 days later each year.)

Seven Saturnian oppositions in the table below.
The dates of Superior Conjunction (when it is behind the Sun) are also shown in the table. Saturn is invisible for about two weeks on either side of Superior Conjunction.

Near opposition, Saturn is:
Due South at local midnight in the Northern hemisphere.
Due North at local midnight in the Southern hemisphere.

The planet's appearance changes markedly at each opposition, the angle of tilt of the ring system varies. (See diagram on reference page.)

These are the bits of that chart I think might be important:
Apparition Period (Period of visibility.)
Opposition Circumstances (Periods of Superior Conjunction and Periods of Opposition

I'm not sure if "Constellation" is needed -it's fairly obvious in the diagramme.

I don't think the Declination is important either.

What isn't in the table may be as important as its conjunctions and oppositions:
Periods when it is at "pause" (maximum east or west of each loop.) That isn't given and isn't that clear from the table.

Then there are the other planets: Venus, Mars, Jupiter and possibly Uranus. I aught to look at Mercury too but I think it is as useful as Uranus -which was ignored by the ancients. (So why wasn't Mercury ignored?)

3 thoughts on “Planets

  1. Originally posted by Wikipedia:

    Astrology has been criticized for not offering a clear account of its physical mechanism and failing to develop new theories in line with modern scientific principles. It has thus been called a pseudo-scientific subject by members of the modern scientific community.

    But if you don't know how to account for the influences observed, how can you "offer a clear account of it"?The "modern scientific community" calling it "a pseudo-scientific subject" without explicit, scientifically controlled research / study / argument, just makes the so called "scientific community" a pseudo-scientific community.

  2. Originally posted by Weatherlawyer:

    Here is a superb set of data all on one page.

    You can get the other planet's pages by just substituting the name of the planets in the link that opens.Here is Jupiter's page:http://www.nakedeyeplanets.com/jupiter.htmHome page:http://www.nakedeyeplanets.com/Wouldn't you suppose a person who lives less than an hour's drive from Jodrell Bank could do better?Well, I can't.I could send for a copy of the Astronomical Almanack but that is a dead loss with my poor mathematical abilities. I did visit the site of a radio telescope near Liverpool once a ponotime. The planetarium, the reason for my visit, their planetarium, was worse than a dead loss. I felt I was gatecrashing a children's cresh.I was too embarrassed to sneak out while the lights were dim. I waited until it was almost empty but ran into the next queue of gawps about to get conned.How can you con someone with a free show?***** I was angry. I'd expected something a lot better from a city the size of Liverpool.They've refurbished it since then. I don't even wonder if they made it worth a visit. I won't be going there again. No, will I ****!

  3. Originally posted by Weatherlawyer:

    Here is a superb set of data all on one page.

    You can get the other planet's pages by just substituting the name of the planets in the link that opens.Here is Jupiter's page:http://www.nakedeyeplanets.com/jupiter.htmHome page:http://www.nakedeyeplanets.com/Wouldn't you suppose a person who lives less than an hour's drive from Jodrell Bank could do better?Well, I can't.I could send for a copy of the Astronomical Almanack but that is a dead loss with my poor mathematical abilities. I did visit the site of a radio telescope near Liverpool once a ponotime. The planetarium, the reason for my visit, their planetarium, was worse than a dead loss. I felt I was gatecrashing a children's cresh.I was too embarrassed to sneak out while the lights were dim. I waited until it was almost empty but ran into the next queue of gawps about to get conned.How can you con someone with a free show?***** I was angry. I'd expected something a lot better from a city the size of Liverpool.They've refurbished it since then. I don't even wonder if they made it worth a visit. I won't be going there again. No, will I ****!

Leave a Reply

