Ubuntu 12.4

(I think that that is the distro I am using.) …

9th May 2013
I am using the Ubuntu OS for the first time since the end of 2012 and find it less irritating than I no longer remember. I think the way that the margin stays the edge of the left hand of the screen and prevents Writer from reaching right across was the original problem. Maybe I will get used to it. I can always switch the margin off in Settings.

10th May.

I am using the OS this morning to write another essay and I have found my original complaint with Unity. I can't see my way around it. It is as confusing to find files as my first efforts at Linux were.

I can't open a file and switch to and fro between that and another one. I don't know how to make an open file drop out of sight temporarily and I have to close everything down and reopen stuff all over again to get anything done with it.

I can understand why heavy users settled into Microsoft won't change if they don't have to. I can only imagine that the payment in kind Microsoft extracts in expecting their users to bone up on second hand security measures (which are generally ineffectual and certainly time consuming) wshes away in the general utility of the nonesense of its features. That is:

It can be used fairly easily.

Why Unity has been developed to run the way it does defeats explanation. I think I am going to hate it and get rid of it in the next few days.

OK I just found out that the diminish and hide buttons along with the close one is on the top left of the open file and that if you diminish it you get the buttons on the top left of the file itself.

Why have they done that?

It is painfully different and seems to adds no redeeming feature to anything.

Right this is developing into a truly British gripe.

It looks like it is going to be a blog post.

Those control buttons get lost too easily and are not even in the right order that EVERYONE has come to know.

When you move a file it is lumpy and tends to go wher it wants at first until you wait for it to change its mind. Is that a bug with the product or is my machine failing?

I have 1.5GB of RAM, isn't that enough to run an office desk-top?

Calling the window back up requires I hit the Show Desk-top icon. This rules out my choice of getting rid of that annoying Unity margin. I suppose that I can et used to it by why do I have to and what significant gain for me is there in doing so?

Moving from 1 file to another requires more work than the simple click we all know and prefer does. Even if and when I get good at it, it is going to be a pain in the harris.

It needs three clicks to re-open a file, if you use the desktop tool -and you also have to concentrate on a search of the images that come up. How will that work if you are using more than four windows?)

I seem to have to work in diminish mode to get a semblance of GNOME or even KDE. WTH are Canonical thinking?

OK maybe it is early days yet. Perhaps I am being too anti Unity to give 12.4 its first outing. So why was Unity given its first outing in 12.4 without the version being rated the same as an alpha or nightly editions test bed?

And why is there no obvious choice between Unity and Gnome? Does that problem go away with future editions?

Well that is a start. I am sure there is plenty of other stuff I am going to hate if I can manage to keep on being bloody minded and not changing things for the better by getting rid of the abortion. I suppose I have to go out and shell a few mre shekels in the name of progress to see if they have produced a better version since this one came out. Let's see when this was produced:

Linux Format DVD.

It is from October 2012:

Welcome to part two of a super-special double disc issue. We've included fifteen full distros of which fourteen are bootable. Six of these are bootable on this disc and one more is an ISO. SuperGrub2, which isn't a Linux distro, but is very useful, is also on the disk in both bootable and ISO form. Take a look at the menu to the left for details of the distros on this disc. Across the two discs we've included the Distrowatch top ten distros, so you can check out the best Linux experiences before deciding what to stick to.

All the distros are 32 bit.

If there's anything you'd like to see on the disc in future, drop me an e-mail.

Ben Everard
Digital Media Editor
Ben.Everard@futurenet.com

Dear Ben,

Can you give me a copy of Ubuntu Ultimate Edition without the Unity crapware, please. I don't want a Light version. I want the full 4 GB of humungous usability with the emphasis on KDE's office suite for the stunning abilities it has with PDFs and the like.

I'd apply directly to the chaps who write it if I knew how to wade through their limited and self absorbed forum. Please work your magic for me, I have bought your hideously expensive magazine twice now and need to see some sort of return on my investment.

Yours since yearly

A Writer.

Do you think that will motivate the buggers?

Here is my alternative:

Debian

"Debian is considered by many to be the epitome of Linux community spirit. It's the largest distro that neither has commercial backing nor is based on a distro that does. Of course, the lack of commercial pressures can have its down sides too. The release cycle has been somewhat erratic in the past, and the stable version lacks some of the newer features in"

In what?

The article such as it is doesn't say. Would you put your computer in the hands of this offering?

I don' theen so-oh.

"There is a bug in the way the installer handles Grub. This should work fine as long as you have an internet connection and select the option to use a network mirror. However, if you aren't online, this will fail and you'll have to configure grub manually."

Right!

For the unititiated, grub is the boot command. (The disc does have a grub boot utility. I don't want to have to find out what that does. Would you?)

Ooh!

I just looked at that utility:

"SuperGrub

Let's be honest, most people who've used Linux for a while have managed to screw up their Master Boot Record (MBR). This can be infuriating because it leaves you with a computer that has a fully working system on it, but won't boot. Fortunately, help is at hand! SuperGrub2 is a bootable tool for booting your system should such a calamity happen. It's bootable from this DVD, or the ISO is included so you can keep it on some other media ready and waiting."

Great. I wonder if I can access my old hard drives with it. There is also System Rescue and Parted Magic

"pmagic

Parted Magic is a distro with simple goals: to help you manage your hard drives. If you need a to partition, clone or wipe a drive, this is the distro for you. If you want to do something else, you'll be better served by something different. " and SysResc

"It doesn't take a genius to work out that System Rescue CD is a CD for rescuing systems. If you've somehow managed to knacker a computer, be it Windows or Linux, this live distro may have the tools to help. It can't work miracles, but it can repair bootloaders, check file systems and try to get data out of failing drives (if you're lucky). But, of course, you'll never need this because you keep regular backups right?"

No, fool! If I did that I wouldn't have so many mangled drives. would I?

Seriously. This magazine has a lot to offer look at the book releases on this issue:

"Bookshelf

Bash Scripting

If you're familiar with using Bash for normal tasks, but want to learn how to use it to automate tasks, this is the book for you.

Open the book
Go to this directory

Bourne Shell Scripting

Like the Bash Scripting Guide, this will take you through automating tasks with the shell, but this one is more suitable for people with less commandline experience.

Open the book
Go to this directory

Cathedral Bazaar

In this classic text, Eric S Raymond compares open and closed source development and tries to answer the question "Why does Linux work?"

Open the book
Go to this directory

DebianBook

The Debian Administrator's Handbook, written by two Debian developers, has recently been translated from French. It's free under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike licence and the GPL. However, you can also get it in an ebook format in return for a small contribution, or as a paperback book. See the project's web page for more information.

Open the book
Go to this directory
Visit the website

Intro to Linux

If you're new to Linux, and need some pointers to get you started, then check out this beginner's guide.

Open the book
Go to this directory

Linux Dictionary

A Linux-specific dictionary for when you get confused buy odd words.

Open the book.
Go to this directory

Linux Kernel in a Nutshell

Greg Kroah-Hartman is a legend in the world of Linux kernel development. Not only is he one of the top kernel developers, but he's also released a book on kernel development under a free licence. This is a bit out of date now, but the basics remain the same, and it's still an excellent starting point for people interested in the insides of their Linux system.

Preface Chapter 1 Chapter 2 Chapter 3 Chapter 4 Chapter 5 Chapter 6 Chapter 7 Chapter 8 Chapter 9 Chapter 10 Chapter 11 Appendix A Appendix B
Go to this directory

System Administrators Guide

This guide takes you through the basics of getting your system to do what you want it to, and keeping it doing it.

Open the book
Go to this directory

Tools Summary

An overview of all the core Gnu tools for when you get confused and the man page just won't do.

Open the book
Go to this directory"

One thought on “Ubuntu 12.4

  1. I have just been in WH Smith's to see what offerings are available in the various Linux magazines. There is one called Multibuntu now that conmcentrates on all the versions of the Canonical distribution.None of them tempted me out of the 6 to 12 quid needed for the latest greatest.My problem is that I don't know how to make an ISO a CD that will boot up and install an operating system.Besides the Laptop i want it for is not usable until I can find a Hewlitt Packard charger. Mine just died for the second time. (Replacement HP P/N 463958-001 Smart AC Adapter 65Watt if anyoine has one.)All Google seems to find are in the USA which although cheap enough would cost a bomb to post.

Leave a Reply

