Latest Activities

I think I have come down with Lamonitis and its after-effects. (And other stuff stuffed in here.) …

Or maybe these had something to do with it:

Originally posted by Volcano Discovery:

Currently erupting:
Ambrym (Vanuatu): active lava lakes in several craters (updated 5 Aug 2013)

Batu Tara (Sunda Islands, Indonesia): strombolian explosions, ash plumes up to 500 m, extrusion of a small lava dome with rockfalls (updated 3 Jun 2013)

Cleveland (Aleutian Islands, Alaska): continuous small eruptions (updated 6 May 2013)

Colima (Western Mexico): lava flow on upper eastern flank (updated 19 Jul 2013)

Dukono (Halmahera): thermal anomaly, probably small explosive activity in summit crater (updated 2 May 2013)

Erebus (Antarctica): active lava lake in summit crater (updated 21 Jan 2012)

Erta Ale (Ethiopia): active lava lake in northern pit crater, active hornito with intermittend flow in southern crater (updated 11 Jan 2013)

Fuego (Guatemala): strombolian activity, new lava flow on upper southern flank (updated 6 Aug 2013)

Gamalama (Halmahera): ash eruptions since 17 Sep (updated 17 Sep 2012)

Grozny (Iturup Island): fumarolic activity (updated 3 Apr 2013)

Heard (Australia, Southern Indian Ocean): likely lava lake in summit crater (updated 1 Aug 2013)

Karkar (Northeast of New Guinea): possible ash eruption on 1 February (updated 15 Mar 2013)

Karymsky (Kamchatka): occasional small explosions, thermal anomaly (updated 6 Aug 2013)

Kilauea (Hawai'i): lava lakes in Halemau'uma'u and Pu'u 'O'o, lava flows on coastal flat and weakly active ocean entries (updated 5 Jul 2013)

Kizimen (Kamchatka): growing lava dome, lava flow on eastern flank, avalanches (updated 22 Jul 2013)

Lokon-Empung (North Sulawesi, Indonesia): steaming, degassing, occasional ash explosions (updated 25 Jul 2013)

Nyiragongo (DRCongo): active lava lake in summit crater (updated 12 Jun 2013)

Ol Doinyo Lengai (Tanzania): effusion of natrocarbonatite lava inside the crater (updated 8 Jul 2013)

Paluweh (off Flores Island, Indonesia): active growing lava dome (updated 5 Aug 2013)

Popocatépetl (Central Mexico): steam/gas/ash emissions (updated 7 Aug 2013)

Rabaul (Tavurvur) (New Britain, Papua New Guinea): weak explosions and ash emissions (updated 14 Mar 2013)

Reventador (Ecuador): lava flow on upper southern flank, numerous small to moderate explosions (updated 25 Jul 2013)

Sakurajima (Kyushu, Japan): constant ash emissions and strong explosions (updated 7 Aug 2013)

Santa María / Santiaguito (Guatemala): Santiaguito volcano (Guatemala): lava flow on south flank of dome becomes more active (updated 5 Aug 2013)

Semeru (East Java, Indonesia): growing lava dome, ash venting and small to moderate explosions (updated 25 Jul 2012)

Shiveluch (Kamchatka): slow dome growth, occasional explosions and pyroclastic flows (updated 5 Aug 2013)

Stromboli (Eolian Islands, Italy): continuing lava overflows (updated 25 Jul 2013)

Tinakula (Santa Cruz Islands, Solomon Islands): increased activity at the volcano (updated 8 Feb 2013)

Tolbachik (Kamchatka): effusion of fluid lava flows (updated 25 Jul 2013)

Tungurahua (Ecuador): constant ash emissions and strombolian activity (updated 3 Aug 2013)

Yasur (Tanna Island, Vanuatu): strong strombolian activity (level 3), crater currently closed (updated 29 May 2013)

http://www.volcanodiscovery.com/volcano-activity/news/36166/Volcanic-activity-worldwide-7-Aug-2013-Popocatpetl-Sakurajima-Chirpoi-Ketoi-Chirinkotan.html

I am not very happy with so called scientific shorthand used on these sort of websites. Who or what is supposed to know an hornito from a stromboli?
Whatever the case, I am pretty sure people who are not in the best of health generally (people of a certain age -whatever that means) have had a bad time recently. So if you have been suffering from rheumatics or poor heart/circulation problems or even stuff which I should thank god I don't know about, you may have been literally under the stuff that lies under the weather.

Stuff which we don't as yet fully comprehend.
Stuff that I think goes hand in glove with man-made disasters developed from the inability to think clearly at times like we have just had/are still enjoying.

I seem to recall a coincidence with airliners dropping out of the sky and people on them making silly mistakes about evacuating said airliners and a rather incompetent railway operator not being a bit more candid with good advice about applying brakes to trains loaded with crude oil, uphill from sleepy French Canadian towns occurring at about the same time some well known but oddly ill-manned reporting station at a volcano somewhere erupting at the time.

Am I wrong?
Whatever, I went down with a case of badly fitting tendons. Barely able to hobble up and down stairs I forfeited the right to go out and about as freely as I would have wished, had I been able to choose what I wished.

Fortunatley for me all I wished was sleep. Unfortunately for me all I could do was sleep a bit between waking up with sore legs. I usually get severe cramps at times like these. These weren't strictly times like these, since I don't have evidence that they were times like these. Just that I wasn't suffering from leg cramps.

I have just started a regime of not eating any proteins except what is contained in carbohydrates. I am not on any strict recipe, just testing out whether the overdosing that goes on in a western diet is due to too much of a good thing. I will eat meat and the like when I feel like it. I am just interested in finding out how long it will be before I actually do crave meat or eggs or whatever.

So far I have had not overwhelming desire to jump on anyone and drink their blood. I still have a packet of beef-burgers that I bought back when I forgot the effect they tended to produce (I think it was leg cramps.) I am not free of them but the incidences of leg cramps have been minor and not at all difficult to handle this past week.

Maybe I should keep a log?
I forget all the time and fall into the inevitable trap of finding out the hard way just exactly why I wanted to avoid such and such a foodstuff. I meant to get hold of some Ha Al meat as there isn't, as far as I know, a Jewish butcher in Stoke (there must be one here somewhere I suppose?)

I haven't felt the need to eat meat yet though. So whether my problem has to do with the stuff that they add to the food or the length of time British butchers leave the carcass mproving remains to be seen.

I have been quite surprised how little I have wanted to move from a diet of rice, chips or bread to something more substantial. But then, I have spent most of that time in bed!
Maybe if those crackpot volcanoes would just give me a chance….

But can I be alone in this malaisian attitude?
I have not been very active on My Opera for the above reasons. But fifty blog posts (including new friendships made) is hardly a great deal of internet activity since the end of July is it?
Two weeks and who's counting?

One thought on “Latest Activities

  1. his is an horinto:http://www.doubledeckerpress.com/hornito.htmNamed after a Sesame Street character the Cookie Monster.They are just flash build up from splatter over a passing stream of lava.I suppose there must be a reason why a lava stream would oblige with regular splatter along a pipe. Most likely simple pressure sores or the mechanical equivalent.A stromboli eruption is a deeper systemic effect, for example the regular type of eruption seen at Hawaii and ..ahem.. Stromboli:http://www.volcanodiscovery.com/photos/strombolian_eruptions/image97.htmlPresumably these are the product of inflow and outflow, naturally metered giving regular relief of pressure rather than a more dangerously explosively intermittent release. I have no idea what layers of venting takes place to bring that about. I get the idea there may be various magma chamber layers to different volcanoes, similar in effect to the different layers that can occur in the atmosphere to produce different clouds and different weather types.Just guessing though. It might just as easily be down to what minerals are available to incite physical and chemical activities. God knows.

Leave a Reply

