Miniature computers

Warning. Even more so than normal for me:

I DON'T KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT!!

I culled these adverts from their websites. I would like to get one but the idea of carting a TV around just so that I can have a laptop is ridiculous.

I am not recommending any of the following. But I will be paying most heed to those that have the ability to run Opera and Flash. That is the biggest bug–bear of all the Linux operating systems I have ever had, the ability to watch video and to grab non Linux programmes and tools.

One thought on “Miniature computers

  1. url=http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/processor-microcontroller-development-kits/7753805/?cm_mmc=UK-GDN-0212-_-2_GDN_Beaglebone_Remarketing-_-Remarketing-normaltargeting-_-beagleboard-remark-728x90_v1w_gif&gclid=CMXa963c-rkCFebJtAodAH4AFA%5DThe Beagle Bone (Black)[/url]I've placed this one first, not because it was the first (that was the Raspberry Pi) but because it is prominently advertised on my Homepage (http://www.disaster-report.com/)There are two versions the latest is "The Beagle Bone Black". I have no idea what most of the specification mean but here they are:BeagleBone Black BeagleBoneProcessor AM3359ARM Cortex-A8 AM3358ARM Cortex-A8Maximum Processor Speed 1GHz 720MHzAnalog Pins 7 7Digital Pins 65 (3.3V) 65 (3.3V)Memory 2GB on-board storage using eMMC, 512MB DDR3 (800MHz x 16), microSD card slot 256MB DDR2 (400MHz x 16), microSD card slotUSB HS USB 2.0 Client Port, LS/FS/HS USB 2.0 Host Port HS USB 2.0 Client Port, LS/FS/HS USB 2.0 Host PortVideo microHDMI, cape add-ons cape add-onsAudio microHDMI, cape add-ons cape add-onsSupported Interfaces 4x UART, 8x PWM, LCD, GPMC, MMC1, 2x SPI, 2x I2C, A/D Converter, 2xCAN Bus, 4 Timers 4x UART, 8x PWM, LCD, GPMC, MMC1, 2x SPI, 2x I2C, A/D Converter, 2xCAN Bus, 4 Timers, FTDI USB to Serial, JTAG via USBArrrgh! That's not very good is it? I will try again later.

Leave a Reply

