Ketogenic diet and Weather Affected Chronic Disorders

Three water-soluble compounds, known as ketone bodies, are produced by the liver in starved people on a very low-carbohydrate, high-fat diet. This diet produced a high level of ketones in the blood (ketonemia.) Hoping the benefits of the fasting therapy could be maintained indefinitely as a treatment for epilepsy.

The classic diet has a ratio of one gram of protein per kilogram of body weight

in children, 10–15 g of carbohydrate per day, and the remainder of calories from fat.

Positive effects are:

Improved alertness, behaviour and sleep.

The adverse effects are:

Nausea and vomiting due to excess ketosis).

Very successful in children; 95% of 37 young patients had improved seizure control on the diet and 60% became seizure-free. By 1930, the diet had also been studied in 100 teenagers and adults. 56% of older patients improved on the diet and 12% became seizure-free. Although the adult results are similar to modern studies of children, they did not compare as well to contemporary studies. The ketogenic diet was not studied again in adults until 1999.

In the 1920s and 1930s the only anticonvulsant drugs were the sedative bromides (discovered 1857) and phenobarbital (1912). This changed in 1938 when phenytoin was discovered. Research shifted to discovering new drugs. (Anyone believe this has a financial reason rather than a practical one?)

http://www.uctv.tv/shows/Sugar-The-Bitter-Truth-16717 A video (with a repulsive intro for 1 minute.) is the information that started me thinking. Reading this I realised that a balanced diet just required I drop all fructose. An almost impossible regimen if you live in Britain. But doable. I got results that were so miraculous I don’t believe it. I don’t expect you to. (Search term: “UCTV sugar bitter truth”.)

The initial point to remember that an Atkins Diet has one thing in common with the Palaeolithic Diet:

They both lack Fructose (Invertase or Corn Sugar/Syrup.)

The second point he makes is that fructose is widely available in nature but with natural controls for its use.

(In autumn, bears become ravenous for bulk building foods and eat neat fat and high fructose foods in order to survive hibernation.)

Further research indicates that the diet above is useful for Altzheimer’s Disease.

Dietary change from high in carbohydrates to insufficient carbohydrate will not replenish glycogen stores and the body enters ketosis in stages. Initially blood glucose levels are maintained through gluco-neo-genesis and the adult brain does not burn ketones. However, the brain makes immediate use of ketones for lipid synthesis in the brain. After about 48 hours of this process, the brain starts burning ketones in order to more directly use the energy from the fat stores that are being depended upon, and to reserve the glucose only for its absolute needs, thus avoiding the depletion of the body’s protein store in the muscles.

Uses of low-carbohydrate diets are controversial and the diet terms have very wide interpretation. Using the term “Nutritional Ketosis” helps avoid confusion.

Personal Experience:

I get hangover-like headaches a from using too much carbohydrate but I splurge on them occasionally. I feel that using the inconsistency helps me appreciate my illness and I become more fervent in applying the constraints…

Until next time.

The immediate effect is that I go-off an appreciation for fruit (and veg.) It loses it’s taste appeal. The next thing is tiredness and goofiness. I make errors and can not calculate or concentrate hard.

My first experience with the diet was mental. I hadn’t started it but in preparing some scrambled eggs (all I had available to start the diet straight away) I had such a feeling of relief it was psycho-somatic. But my gout, that I had been suffering for 3 weeks began to ease even as I was cooking the food. But I soon had cravings for Toffee Crisp -my favourite chocolate bar. (I now use cocoa powder mixed with coffee to overcome that desire -it removes a craving for sweets. I drink it with 3 or 4 Sweetex pills though.)

Here’s an oddity just as mental: Real cocoa powder costs about as much as Drinking Chocolate -which has only 12 to 25% cocoa the rest being FRUCTOSE and milk solids. Imagine you are paying top whack for a poison when for the same price you could get medicine in larger quantities!

Can you believe that?

It’s Satanic!

 

One thought on “Ketogenic diet and Weather Affected Chronic Disorders

  1. Pingback: WACD | weathercharts ~

Leave a Reply

