February 2014 NWS tornado and storm reports

http://www.spc.noaa.gov/climo/reports/140201_rpts.html

February NWS_rpts

I’d like to know what I am doing wrong in preparing these animations. When so much as one dot appears on the chart the colour changes. The first occurrence is with the report for the 4th but it occurs on every chart that has a wind or storm reported.

February 2014 NWS_rpts

 

 

 

 

I changed the file format to .png for the above animation. I still lacks the definition of the original but at least I don’t have the blue background with each chart that has a report on it.

3 thoughts on “February 2014 NWS tornado and storm reports

  1. I have had a great deal of help from experts on the GIMP forum. My biggest problem was the way I saved these charts. I had changed them to .gif format due to problems experienced several years ago in migrating from Microsoft to a better world:
    http://gimpforums.com/thread-background-changes-colour
    I kick myself for being so foolishly slow.
    I will be going through my collection re-editing them to a less stupid .file ending. Thankfully all this is fairly easy to do in Linux.

  2. Although there is no official declaration from the National Weather Service (NWS), we believe there is evidence suggesting yesterday’s line of storms may have constituted a minimal, or low-end, derecho.

    Our assessment is based on the wind damage pattern, radar images and wind reports from central New Jersey through central Maryland into northern West Virginia. The storms resulted in several hundred thousand power outages through this swath.

    9:23p ET Number of customers w/out power #PA – 252,659; #MD – 130,929; #NY – 120,544; #WV – 81,880; #NJ – 38,359; #VA – 37,540; #DE – 21,407
    — The Weather Channel (@weatherchannel) July 9, 2014
    http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/capital-weather-gang/wp/2014/07/09/low-end-derecho-may-have-swept-through-d-c-s-north-and-west-suburbs-tuesday-night/

    That would have been Tuesday the 8th. Looking at the North Pacific chart on the OPC website it looks like the stalled frontal system from the last couple of days pays its dues in good old fashioned proverbial ways:
    Dry or wet the weather always pays its debt.
    Now I know how to compile animations I will go back a few days and post on a previous thread the OPC charts on this matter.

Leave a Reply

