Boy! That was not expected!!

I am currently sitting back, finger up backside awaiting a large magnitude earthquake. For that to occur all (or most) tropical storms must cease (depending on magnitude). The alternative is a volcanic eruption, for which at least 3 storms (one of which needs to be at least Cat 3) have to oblige.

So having nothing better to do I began perusing the NA-EFS and the BoM (as you do.) Not find anything I liked particularly in either place I fell on the Met Office’s North Atlantic wondering at the shape of things to come. (As I do.)

All things considered things looked inexplicably off (or odd at least.)

Then we had some activity or lack thereof in the SED earthquake lists. A period of a substantial fraction of a day without a medium (5.5M or larger) earthquake indicates a tropical storm developing. (Or so I thought.)

I noticed therefore when a magnitude 5.6 struck And shortly after a tropical storm occurred. (Kate.)

Then there were no more medium sized quakes and it occurred to me out of nowhere and for no particular reason: I wonder if more storms are due. And then we had another 5.6. (Aha! methinks.)

Along came Jangmi. So I posted about it. And then I noticed the run was still in flow. What if we have another 5.6? So I posted about that. And we had another 5.6M. And get this they were all in the same place. It’s hard to describe where it is but if you can imagine where the Weddel Sea is, it’s north of that on this map. (I have just had a good idea:)

mapserv

You should know by now how to get the larger image by clicking on t so I won’t mention it.

Here is the same thing in text:

South Sandwich Islands region – Magnitude: 5.6

Date & Time: 2014/12/29 17:41:47 UTC
Latitude: 56.62 S Longitude: 24.80 W

Mindanao, Philippine Islands – Magnitude: 6.1

Date & Time: 2014/12/29 09:29:41 UTC
Latitude: 8.60 N Longitude: 121.50 E

Opps!

(Memories play tricks on old farts in incredibly short time periods.)

South Sandwich Islands region – Magnitude: 5.5

Date & Time: 2014/12/28 20:30:57 UTC
Latitude: 59.72 S Longitude: 27.12 W

But never mind you have just been party to me discovering something new and sharing it with people before having any time to consider the implications. In order to bean your curds, I won’t tell you want it is. If you are a budding thaumaturge, you will quickly realise what it is. (Double: Boy! That was not expected!!)

I am placing a long list of charts from 30 December 2014 on the next thread. These are today’s charts and fill the bill for the previous stuff too if you have not been collecting your own. I can supply them copyright to their original source but for educational purposes free to good homes.

2 thoughts on “Boy! That was not expected!!

  1. I recently stopped loading all the daily graphics about tropical storms that I am used to collecting, reasoning that ust grabbing the front page was enough in runs that were more or less going to go the way these things usually go. Little did I know.

    In the trade, this is known as a “Pisser!”.
    PS I took a shed load of anti-gout remedies yesterday and got up this morning with leg cramps 😦

    I know that it can’t be helped, especially in periods of tornadic activity.

    But… DAMN!

  2. Oh!
    1626 UNK 2 S VALDOSTA LOWNDES GA 3082 8328 POSSIBLE TORNADO. EMERGENCY MANAGER REPORTS STRUCTURES DAMAGED AT LANGDALE FOREST PRODUCTS WITH ONE BUILDING COLLAPSED. RAILROAD CARS OVERTURNED. OTHER STRUCTURES IN TH (TAE)
    Maybe I am too early for the report or it was missed due to darkness?
    But:
    Double DAMN!
    This was about 3 attacks of varying intensity, quickly easing with no apparent lasting effect. They took place between 3 and 6 am GMT. And at least they got me up.
    Now to do something with my life…
    Byee.

Leave a Reply

